Seeing the forest or just the trees?

At least a part of every day, I seem to get so caught up in the details that I lose sight of the big picture.  Apparently, there is a term for this – at least as it relates to visual perception. It’s called inattentional blindness.  I’m making the loose connection with what happens when I focus so intently on the tasks at hand that I loose sense of the purpose and (consequently) miss the incidental yet important pieces of the bigger picture.  Maybe this is a different thing, but somehow it seems related.

I was reminded of an earlier post on Mind Hacks on this topic and a link to dothetest.co.uk .

Click on the photo below to take the test and see what I mean…

image of a group of people about to play basketball.

image of a group of people about to play basketball.

Leave a Reply

