Crisis, Change and Economics

Crisis opens the door to change and often forces us to reflect on our most fundamental values. While I’ve experienced many moments of personal “crisis” in my life,  economics has never been at the root of any of them.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have investments (barely a savings account actually) – maybe it’s because I don’t put a high priority on money and things (though I like to have enough to live my life without crazy stress).

In observing the mania in the media lately (not so much among my friends and family – who are pretty much in the same financial boat as me), I can’t help but think that this crisis has a flip side – a good side – that will remind us of what we can offer every day to make our lives better – without entrenching            ourselves so far inside the institutions of the economy that we loose our own minds.                                       

Eat Money Originally uploaded by waɪ.tiː

Serendipitously, on my way to work, I heard a radio interview by David Suzuki with Chris Carlson – author of a recent book called Nowtopia: How Pirate Programmers, Outlaw Bicyclists and Vacant-lot Gardeners are Inventing the World Today. This snippet Building an Anti-Economy provides a bit of an overview into his ideas.  Haven’t read the book, but plan to.  Inspiration to add to my list…

Leave a Reply

